Gallery

Suggested New Year’s resolutions for Liverpool FC

The turn of the year is a good opportunity for people to take a long, hard look at themselves and figure out what they can do to improve, specifically in the form of “New Year’s Resolutions” – which is a guilty promise you make to yourself that gets completely forgotten around about January 18th.

Personally, I’m pretty happy with how things are going, but I’ve made three resolutions for 2011 because there’s always room for improvement:

1 – Get more sleep.
2 – Drink more water.
3 – Be ambitious and imaginative in everything that I do.

Now we all know that things are somewhat “belly-up” at Liverpool FC, and I genuinely feel that if the staff and players take on board my suggestions we will enjoy a happier, more successful year than the last one…. (can’t be too difficult to be fair).

Roy Hodgson:

In 2011 I WILL…

Win more games.

In 2011 I WON’T…

1 – Lose.
2 – Draw.

John W. Henry:

I WILL…

1 – Put a stop to the empty seats at Anfield by bringing Mrs Henry to more games.

2 – Try to sign the following:

  • Messi.
  • Messi’s brother, if he has one.

I WON’T…

Hire the following people in any professional capacity:

  • Sven.
  • Sam Allardyce.
  • Sven (worth repeating).

Ryan Babel:

I WILL…

Come off the bench and actually do something. Even if it’s just wave and smile.

I WON’T…

Waste any more of my time “rapping”. Hobbies are good fun and everything, but enough is enough. Snoop Dogg and Dr Dre will not make me a more effective Plan D substitute.

Fernando Torres:

I WILL…

Encourage Stevie to get some rest, he looks well shattered!

I WON’T…

Faff about with my hair. That’s when the trouble started in the first place.

Raul Meireles:

I WILL…

Keep being grateful when people tell me that I’m settling into Liverpool well because of my “passing, energy, and great link-up play with Gerrard and Torres”

I WON’T…

Get offended when people tell me that I’m settling into Liverpool well because of my “gaunt features, threatening skinhead, scary tattoos and quintessential crack-head eyes”

Paul Konchesky:

I WILL…

Get rid of mum’s computer.

I WON’T…

Let her get a new one.

Glen Johnson:

I WILL…

Keep playing badly for England on purpose because Jamie gets a kick out of it. Gary Neville is the only other option the country has got, I can do what I like! Haha! Great fun.

I WON’T…

Keep using LFC games as practise for my comedy-bad England performances. I’ve probably practised the clodhopping joker routine enough now – got it down to a tee in fact – it’s time I started playing with my shoes on the correct feet again…

Alberto Aquilini:

I WILL…

Invest in a 15 tog slanket to be worn at all times with bubble-wrap-covered motorcycle helmet and double-padded Ugg boots. Don’t want to be doing myself any more mischiefs!

I WON’T…

Commit to anything that may endanger my health or cause injury, e.g. zorbing, paintballing, rock climbing, horse riding, bungee jumping, go-karting, kayaking, snowboarding, “Go Ape!”, Laser Quest, playing football, etc.

Pepe Reina:

I WILL…

Claim back my “look”. Them rubbish outfield baldies are giving us no-hairs a bad name.

I WON’T…

Let it get to me that if I hadn’t messed-up in the last minute against Arsenal in the first game of the season we would have banked 3 points, kept Mascherano, and probably had a completely different season. It’s not my fault. My therapist is definitely right, it’s definitely not all my fault that we’ll finish 11th this year. Definitely not my fault.

Joe Cole:

I WILL…

Do better at work when I am at work.

I WON’T…

Go outside of the lines when I’m colouring-in after work (during playtime! 😀 ).

…………………………………….

I’ve missed out quite a few key players (it seemed harsh and counter-productive to suggest that Lucas “stop looking like such a bloody gormless wool” for 2011), so if you have any suggestions or thoughts then feel free to add your comments below.

One response to “Suggested New Year’s resolutions for Liverpool FC

  1. Maxi Rodriguez-

    Will: End his contact with immediate effect and consider a career elsewhere.

    Will not: Shock and disturb Liverpool fans with his wasteful passing and appalling set pieces.

Leave a comment